Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Presidents of the Republic of Texas

The Republic of Texas was formed in 1836. In the midst of the Texas Revolution, Texan settlers elected delegates to the Convention of 1836, which issued the Texas Declaration of Independence and elected David G. Burnet as interim president of the new country. In May 1836 Burnet and Mexican dictator Antonio López de Santa Anna, who was at the time a Texan prisoner-of-war, signed the Treaties of Velasco officially recognizing Texas's break from Mexico.

The president of the Republic of Texas was the head of state and head of government while Texas was an independent republic between 1836 and 1845. The president served as the commander-in-chief of the Texas Military Forces. Four men served as President of the Republic, and one, Sam Houston, served two nonconsecutive terms.

Friday, April 19, 2024

Signers of The United States Constitution

This is the list of the Signers of The United States Constitution on September 17, 1787. Thus far we have visited 11 of the 39 signers gravesites.

An excellent source of information about the Signers can be found at the following National Park Service website: Historic Places Commemorating the Signing of the Constitution